Home

About

Events

Meetings

Paint Outs

Newsletters

Member Artists

Join MBPAPA

Contact


Painting from Life
A Member Exhibition

The MBPAPA General Membership exhibition for 2013 is being hosted by the Pacific Grove Art Center and is titled Painting from Life. Our artists use observation to translate their visual perceptions onto canvas or paper. The subject matter is varied and extends beyond the local plein air landscape. This exhibit highlights our artists' incredible and diverse power of perception and interpretation.



Exhibit Timeline

Exhibit: May 31 - Jul 11, 2013
Reception and Awards Ceremony: Friday, May 31, 7-9pm



Location

David Henry Gill Gallery, Pacific Grove Art Assn.
568 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Art Center phone: 831.375.2208. Hours: Wed-Sat 12-5, Sun 1-4pm


Artist Timeline


Pickup: Friday, Jul 12, 12-5pm


Juror: Laurie Kelsey

Carmel painter and instructor Laurie Kelsey is our exhibit's juror for selection and awards. Laurie Kersey has won numerous awards for her paintings including the Best Local at the Carmel Art Festival in 2012 and the Seascape Award of Excellence at the OPA National in 2012. She is represented by Jones & Terwilliger Galleries in Carmel and Palm Desert, Garden Gallery in Half Moon Bay, Fairmont Gallery in Sonoma, and K. Nathan Gallery in La Jolla. Kersey taught painting and drawing at the San Francisco Academy of Art, and teaches workshops from her Carmel studio. You can see her paintings on her website Lauriekersey.com.



Exhibiting Artists and Artwork

Here are the paintings juried into the exhibit.

Skip Andreae
skipandreae1@att.net

Pacific Bluffs
oil 12x10
$350

Joanne Baine
jcalifornia@redshift.com

Carmel Valley 1
oil 14x11
$450

Janet A. Barker
janetbarker@me.com

Surf Rocks, Monterey Bay
oil 8x10
$500

Carole Belliveau
carolebelliveau@charter.net

Autumn day at Elkhorn Slough
oil 12x16
$525

Fall Color at Big Sur
oil 12x16
$595

Catherine Blair
catherineblair@sbcglobal.net

Along 17 Mile Drive
oil 11x14
$825

Point Lobos Temple
oil 10x8
$775
Third Place

Maria Boisvert
maria.boisvert@rbc.com

Morning Sparkle
oil 22x28
$1850

Darlene Boyd
darleneboyd@darleneboyd.com

Red Poppies in the Garden
acrylic 24x18
$600

Redmond House 2
acrylic 20x30
$600

Norma Bruhn
normeeb@comcast.net

Waves Lovers Point
oil 12x16
$600

Ruth Carroll
rdhcarroll@sbcglobal.net

Meyer Lemons
oil 15x30
$2000

Perfect Mason
oil 10x30
$1800
Honorable Mention
People's Choice Award

Lorraine Catania
ljcatania@gmail.com

Sunflowers and Grapes
oil 16x20
$750

White Roses and Copper Pot
oil 16x20
$750

Judy Cooper
judycooper@gmail.com

Pink
oil 30x24
$400

Summer Arrangement
oil 16x16
$250

Lisa Couper
lisacouper@gmail.com

Larkspur Pajaro Valley
mixed media 14x11
$450

Morning Race Pebble Beach
pastel 11x14
$490

Christine Crozier
contactme@christinecrozier.com

Buckskinner
oil 12x9
$800
Honorable Mention

Mountain Man
oil 18x14
$1200

Suzanne Elliott
sueelliott@sbcglobal.net

Circle P Ranch Meadow
oil 8x16
$395

Fall at Quail Hollow Pond
oil 24x18
$775

Michelle Murphy Ferguson
michellemferguson@suddenlink.net

One Strayed
16x20
$700

Tangerine Tea
11x14
$500

Karen Garnett
karen@ksgarnett.com

Connie Sipping Wine
oil 9x12
$495

Barbara Gill
bees2@sbcglobal.net

China Beach
watercolor 14x11
$500

Monterey Bay Cypress
watercolor 11x14
$500

Yolanda Gurries
rgurries54@aol.com

Monterey Bay Cypress
oil 11x14
$500

Coraly Hanson
coralyhanson@aol.com

China Cove
oil 12x12
$900

Strawberry Fields
9x12
$800

Michele Hausman
michele@michelehausman.com

Le Petite Chateau
oil 11x14
$600

Mission Cannas
oil 11x14
$600

Vivian Healy
vivianhealy@gmail.com

Carmel Mission
acrylc 12x16
$600

Elkhorn Slough
acrylc 11x14
$500

Guna Hebbar
gunahebbar@gmail.com

Fishermen in Indian Village
oil 20x16
$400

Maggie Renner Hellmann
maggie@maggiehellmann.com

Hills, Oaks and Brambles
oil 9x12
$575

Til the Cows Come Home
oil 12x12
$675

Peter Holmsky
pholmsky@aol.com

Gramma's Bike
acrylic 24x30
$1400

Life on Pylons
acrylic 24x24
$1500

Daryl Hosick
darylhosick@yahoo.com

Cliff Side Beauty
oil 18x24
$1450

Patricia Huber
patriciahuber@comcast.net

Lemons and Tea
oil 8x10
$595

Park Bench Readers
oil 12x9
$695

Sibyl Johnson
sibylj@sbcglobal.net

Across Whalers' Cove
oil 8x24
$750

Promontory (Pacific Grove)
oil 11x14
$700
Second Place

Richard Klevins
rklevins@gmail.com

Havana Harbor Fishermen
oil 11x14
$600

Lone Cypress at Sunset
oil 8x10
$300

Don Lonsbrough
donlonsbrough@gmail.com

Point Pinos Lighthouse
oil 8x10
$300

The Little Red Boat
oil 11x14
$450

Steve Maher
stevemaherfineart@gmail.com

Morning at Chateau Julien
oil 11x14
$400

Toro Park Corral
oil 11x14
$400

Marie Massey
mm@mariemassey.com

Carmel Valley Vintage
oil 16x20
$800

Courtyard Dalliance
oil 16x20
$800

Joyce Merritt
jemerritt14@comcast.net

Waiting for Bells
oil 11x14
$800

Frances Minglana
minglanaf@yahoo.com

Mission Gate
8x10
$200
Peoples' Choice Award

Rhett Regina Owings
rrowings@earthlink.net

Carmel Color
oil 16x12
$800

The Surfboard Lesson
oil 14x11
$800

Penelope Partch
ppartch@hotmail.com

Sand Pond Sierra Buttes
acrylic 24x18
$695

Sierra Buttes
acrylic 16x12
$300

Howard Perkins
hrperkins@comcast.net

My Specs - Studio Observation
pastel 10x16
$500

Garrapata Sunset
pastel 10x16
$500

Lilli-Anne Price
lilli-anne@sbcglobal.net

Valentine Floral
oil 30x24
$1500

Julia Munger Seelos
Julia_Seelos@yahoo.com

Surf Window
oil 11x14
$800

Very Red Poppies
oil 9x12
$600

Henrietta Sparkman
sparkman.h@gmail.com

Model at Rest
pastel 9.5x12
$400

Richard Steres
ricksteres@hotmail.com

Mandolin Man
oil 20x16
$350

Sax Man
oil 20x16
$350

Jean Thomas
jt.farmart@gmail.com

Geraniums
oil 12x12
$300

Roses
oil 18x14
$450

Murray Wagnon
mcblur@earthlink.net

The Staircase, Mission Carmel
oil 16x20
$1200

Usana Weaver
usana@usanaweaver.com

Monterey Bay
oil 9x12
$500

Jean Weissenborn
jean@generalpencil.com

Grandfather's Barn
oil 16x20
$700

Morning at Carmel Beach
oil 16x20
$700

Cindy Wilbur
cindywilbur920@gmail.com

Spring Valley
oil 18x24
$1350
First Place

Valley Greens
oil 9x12
$950

Rowan L. Wolnick
rwolnick@comcast.net

Carmel Rivers State Beach
pastel 12x15.5
$450

Rainy Day, Carmel Mission
pastel 12x15.5
$450