Home

About

Events

Meetings

Paint Outs

Newsletters

Member Artists

Join MBPAPA

Contact


Point Lobos: Jewel of the Central Coast
A MBPAPA Signature Artists Exhibition


This exhibit showcases our MBPAPA Signature Artist members' plein air and plein-air-inspired paintings of the wild and untamed Point Lobos State Natural Reserve.

Carmel Art Institute, 3728 The Barnyard, Carmel, CA 831.309.8455

Exhibition: September 8 through September 27, 2012
Opening Reception: Saturday, September 8, 2012, 5-8pm
View Flyer
View Postcard



Juror

The juror for Point Lobos: Jewel of the Central Coast was the nationally respected artist Craig Nelson. For the past 13 years Nelson has been teaching at the Academy of Art College in San Francisco where he is Director of Fine Art, Drawing and Painting. Nelson is currently a signature member of the California Art Club, American Society of Portrait Artists, and Baywood Artists. Craig's book entitled "60 Minutes to Better Painting" published by North Light is now available. He is represented by Waterhouse Gallery, Santa Barbara; Garden Gallery, Half Moon Bay; and Peterson-Cody Gallery, Santa Fe. Read more about him at craigzart.com.

Exhibiting Artists and Artwork

Carole Belliveau
carolebelliveau@charter.net

Gibson Beach
Oil 9x12

Soft Light at Point Lobos
Oil 9x12

Morning in China Cove
Oil 16x12

Maria Boisvert
maria@mariaboisvertart.com

Breakers of the Sea
Oil 18x24

Morning Splash
Oil 16x20

Incoming Fog
Oil 28x22


Second Place

Cyndra Bradford
galeriepleinaire@att.net

Point Lobos Rocks
Oil 9x12

Norma Bruhn
normeeb@comcast.net

Point Lobos 2
Oil 12x16

Point Lobos 3
Oil 12x16

Christine Crozier
contactme
@christinecrozier.com


Third Place

Summer Calm
Oil 20x16

Barbara Gill
gillwatercolors@gmail.com


Point Lobos Docents Award

Blue Fish Cove
Watercolor 16x20

Michele Hausman
michele
@michelehausman.com

Under Gray Sky
Oil 11x14

Reflection Cove
Oil 11x14

Pat Huber
patriciahuber@comcast.net

Point Lobos Color

Oil 12x16

Still Morning at Whalers Cove
Oil 9x12

Lobos in Bloom
Oil 9x12

Sibyl Johnson
sibylj@sbcglobal.net

China Cove and Beyond

Oil 11x14

The Colors of Point Lobos
Oil 9x12


Honorable Mention

Karen Leoni
karleoni@yahoo.com

China Cove
Oil 12x16

Backlit
Oil 18x24

Monterey Pine
Oil 9x12


First Place

Steve Maher
stevemaherfineart
@gmail.com

Dome's End
Oil 20x16

Aki Ouye
joeakiouye@gmail.com

Whaler's Cove
Oil 13.5x20.5

Howard Perkins
hrperkins@comcast.net

Sunset at Point Lobos
Oil

Blue Water at China Cove
Oil

North Trail
Oil

Lilli-Anne Price
lilli-anne@sbcglobal.net

China Cove
Oil 16x24

A Stroll in Point Lobos
Oil 24x30

Point Lobos View
Oil 12x16

Stan Robbins
artist.s.e.robbins@comcast.net

Last Walk
Oil


Best in Show

Karlene Ryan
karleneryan@comcast.net

Point Lobos Edge
Oil 16x20

Julia Munger Seelos
Julia_Seelos@yahoo.com

Celadon Sea
Oil 16x20

Dark Cove
Oil 8x10

Dan Tellep
dtellep@earthlink.net

Whalers Cabin
watercolor 10x14


Honorable Mention

Jean Weissenborn
jean@generalpencil.com

Rocky Standoff
oil 11x14