Home

About

Events

Meetings

Paint Outs

Newsletters

Member Artists

Join MBPAPA

Contact


FENCES: A Members Exhibition

This exhibition consists of paintings hung throughout the Corral de Tierra clubhouse and main lodge. MBPAPA member artists are showcasing their skills in rendering FENCES (any type, anywhere in the world) in plein air and plein-air-inspired paintings. The selection of 40 paintings for this exhibit was juried by award winning Californian landscape pastelist, Terri Ford www.terrifordart.com. An additional seven large paintings are displayed in the banquet area. A portion of sales will benefit the Community of Caring Monterey Peninsula. Contact the artist directly to check on the current availability of artwork.

Location: Corral de Tierra Country Club, Salinas, CA. Club Info and Directions
Exhibition: December 5, 2010 - May 22, 2011
Reception: Sunday, December 5, 2010 4:00 - 6:30pm
Poster:
View Poster



Artists' Statement

FENCES: Artists love them.  Natural or manmade, fences are born from strong intentions but end in negligent collapse as historical footnotes. Somewhere in that process they develop artistic character.  Planned as decorative or functional, bold or subtle, open or closed, they become irregular attractions in our landscapes and minds.  They divide space and often direct the eye to a focal point.  Sometimes they are the focal point.  They symbolize man’s attempts to affect the natural world.



Exhibiting Artists and Artwork

Janet A. Barker
mailto:barkerj@katewwdb.com

Ranch Fences
Oil 11”X14” $500

The Pumpkin Patch
Oil 9”X12” $500

Carole Belliveau
mailto:carolebelliveau@gmail.com

Garland Ranch and Rail
Oil 20”X12” $395

Patty Biederman
mailto:pattympat@aol.com

Mission Ranch View
Oil 11”X14” $450
Third Place, Artists Choice

Joulliene Vineyard Patio
Oil 36”X36” $800

Catherine Blair
mailto:art@catherineblair.net

After the Storm
Oil 16"x20" $1200

Resting Pony
Oil 8”X8” $600

Maria Boisvert
mailto:maria@mariaboisvertart.com

Down for the Day
Oil 16"x20" $1150
Second Place

Okay Corral
Oil 20”X16” $1150

Hidden Ranch
Oil 40”X30” $3250
Peoples Choice (tie)

Norma Bruhn
mailto:normeeb@comcast.net

Carmel Valley Hidden Path
Oil 20”X24”  $1500

Markham Ranch Home
Oil 12”X16”  $800

Vivian Cornwall
mailto:vivpleinair25@msn.com

Liquid Amber Red
Oil 12”X16” $650

Cornelia Emery
mailto:cemeryposh@aol.com

Cadillac Daze
Oil 8”X10” $550
Honorable Mention

Golden Overlook: The Mustard Field
Oil 9”X12” $650

Karen Garnett
mailto:karen@ksgarnett.com

Pichetti Winery Vista
Oil 9”X12” $350

Barbara Gill Salerno
mailto:bees2@sbcglobal.net

Lifting Fog
Watercolor 16X20” $375

Peggy Guillory
mailto:pguillory424@gmail.com

Three Fence Posts
Watercolor 9"X12” $500

Thomas Hawley
mailto:thawley@thawley.com

The Homestead
Oil 12"X16” $375

Maggie Renner Hellmann
mailto:maggie@maggiehellmann.com

Colors of Spring, Carmel Valley
Oil 12"x12"” $525

Patricia Huber
mailto:patriciahuber@comcast.net

Fall Vineyard
Oil 5"X7” $225

Rancher
Oil 30”X40” $2300
Peoples Choice (tie)

View from Mission Ranch
Oil 11”X14” $450

Sibyl Johnson
mailto:sibylj@sbcglobal.net

Steamer Lane, Santa Cruz

Oil 9”X12” $575

He Used To Be A Fat Cat
Oil 12”X16” $650

Francene Markle
mailto:dezigner@charter.net

Split Rails at Asilomar
Oil 9”X12” $285

Steve Maher
mailto:stevemaherfineart@gmail.com

River Road Late Day
Acrylic 11”X14” $500

Joe Aki Ouye
mailto:joe.ouye@sbcglobal.net

The Wall at Ryan Ranch
Watercolor 13”X20” $350

White Line, Sea Ranch
Watercolor 13”X20” $350

Rhett Regina Owings
mailto:rrowings@earthlink.net

By the Lagoon
Oil 24”X18” $750

Howard Perkins
mailto:hrperkins@comcast.net

Natural Fences - Russian River
Oil 12”X16” $600
Peoples Choice (tie)

Plein Air Painters of Carmel Valley
Oil 12”X16” $600

Edge of Land at Garrapata Coastline
Oil 30”X40” $1500

Lilli-Anne Price
mailto:lilli-anne@sbcglobal.net

Lavender Boundaries
Oil 11”X14” sold
Honorable Mention, Peoples Choice (tie)

Rock and Roll

Oil 16”X24” $850

Hearts of Sand

Oil 72”X48” $4000

Over Fences

Oil 48”X36” $3000

Roses in Bloom

Oil 11”X14” $550

Torro Creek

Oil 40”X30” $2500

Julia Munger Seelos
mailto:Julia_Seelos@yahoo.com

Fences Can't Keep You Out
Oil 9”X12” $595

Reflections at the Estuary
Oil 11”X14” $795

Joaquin Turner
mailto:jtfineart@gmail.com

Eucalyptus Sunset
Oil 14”X24” $650

Hazy Morning with the Oaks
Oil 9”X12” $450
First Place

Murray Wagnon
mailto:mcblur@earthlink.net

Agave - San Miguel
Oil 20”X16” $800

Stone House in Provence
Oil 20”X16” $800

Jean Weissenborn
mailto:jean@generalpencil.com

Barn at Corral de Tierra
Oil 14”X18” $700

Steve Wise
mailto:wiseguyart@aol.com

Natural Fences Guilielmo Winery
Oil 18”X24” $1550

Rowan L. Wolnick
mailto:rwolnick@comcast.net

Gate into the Garden
Pastel 24”X18” $750